21 Sept 1914 – at Tunbridge Wells

No. 58 E Company
Camp Hill Camp
Tunbridge Wells

Dear Mother & Father
Arrived here Thursday.  Rain all night long about four pegs to hold tent up & have had no bread since yesterday dinner time, now past tea time Thursday.  I guess I could stick nearly anything now, so do not worry about me as am bound to keep alright.  We are about five miles from anywhere on a hill from where we can see Eastbourne lovely country all around but very windy and cold.  I understand this place is about 650ft above sea level. Hope everything is going well with you at home financially & otherwise.  Is Ethel quite well now?  I saw Wick at East Grinstead but did not get a chance to speak to her.  Do you think you could sport me a two ounce tin of Waverly baccy 10d & one box 50 cigarettes Country Life 1/1 when you write again?  Thanks for Pat’s address am writing to him shortly.  Thanks very much for P.C. have managed to hang it out till now. When you send watch will you also put in soap tin as I have nothing at present to keep it in.  Have not had any letters from round home lately still must cheer up.  Remember me to Con and everyone. Love to Ethel & selves & trusting you are all well & not worrying about me.

I remain
Your Affectionate Son
Jack

Leave a Reply

