16 Dec 1914 – high temperature and swollen throat

16 Dec 1914

16 Dec 1914

No 58 No.2 Co 5 platoon
L.R.B.
British Exp Force

Dear Mother & Father
Have be queer for the last three days so have not gone up in the trenches this trip.  I had rather a high temperature and a swollen throat but I am alright now.  Pleased to hear Pat has got his stripe, tell him he wants two more yet.  Tell Mrs L & S that I shall be delighted to get the cakes & puddings.  Dont forget to send me some chocolate now & again as out here it cannot be had for love or money.  Hope everything at home is going well.  Glad to hear Father is still up at N.  Plenty of bus. [business] I suppose.  Will write as often as
I can Trusting everything is A1 with kind regards to all & love to

16 Dec 1914 front of card with end of letter and censor's stamp.

Front of card with end of letter and censor’s stamp.

Ethel and selves.

I remain
Your Affectionate Son

Jack

Leave a Reply

