29 Aug 1915 … put an X through the line underneath the day …

Jack's secret code for letting his parents know where he was.

Jack’s secret code for letting his parents know where he was.

No return address

Dear Mother & Father
I arrived at Southampton about 1.30 pm Sunday. We are at the rest camp now & go out about Tuesday. When I write & let you know where I am I shall do so as follows:- put a X through the line underneath the day and the first letter of each sentence will spell the name of the place. I shall only put the X through the line when I am letting you know the name of the place. Cheer ho! all & love to everyone

Your affectionate Son
Jack

P.S I met young Kirkham from Stafford Rd he going out in the [Kensingtons]

Note: Jack in fact never used this complicated system in any of his subsequent letters which is possibly just as well.

Leave a Reply

