2 Oct 1915 I am a Battalion bomber …

No 58 B Co
No 5 Platoon
LRB

Dear Mother & Father
Just a few lines to let you know I’m keeping fit & cheerful. I received you parcel yesterday quite a nice lot of stuff in it. We have had a lot of rain lately & the cold is in evidence. When you get time to spare I should like you to get a couple of towels & a few cheap handkerchiefs for me. I am a Battalion bomber & expect to get some training in the art of throwing live bombs during the next few weeks. Hope Dad is still busy and keeping well.  I had a letter from Johnny Herbert the other day he tells me he is sending me a photograph of himself later on. Does Teddy even go over to Wallington I’ve not heard from him for a long time. How is [Millest] getting on with the army is he fed up yet?  Next time you send me any money will you get Mr Hudson to get £1 changed into 5 frc note in London as out here we cannot get notes changed now. The exchange is about 27 frc to the £1. I don’t want any for a few weeks. I’ll let you know when I do. Kind regards to all neighbours and tell Mrs Hudson I’ll write soon. Hoping everybody is well at home, with love to Ethel & yourselves.

I remain
Your affect Son
Jack

2 Oct 1915 pg1 & pg4

2 Oct 1915 pg1 & pg4

2 Oct 1915 pg2 & pg3

2 Oct 1915 pg2 & pg3

Leave a Reply

