30 Oct 1915 ….hope to be able to strafe someone before this game’s over

No 58 B Co
LRB

Dear Mother & Father
Just a few lines to let you know I’m getting on A1. We have been busy trench digging today getting quite fit now. The weather here is rotten, wet & cold. I here  we are going to be a Pioneer Battalion attached to the R.E.s some binge eh. I’m a Company bomber have not thrown any live one’s yet, but hope to be able to strafe someone before this game’s over. You can send me 10/- some time next week. Had a parcel from Uncle Will today 80 Waverley in it bon, eh. Hope father is still busy & keeping well. Thank Ethel for her letter glad she is alright. I don’t want any thick underclothes sent out as a cardigan will do to put on when I’m cold & what is more I’ve no room to carry anymore. Kind regards to all neighbours & love to all at home. Trusting this will find you well.

I remain
Your Affect Son
Jack

Leave a Reply

