8 Dec 1915 All being well we should be out of the trenches for Xmas …

No 58 Grenadier Co
B Section
LRB8 Dec 1915pg1004

 

 

 
My Dear Mother and Father just a few lines to let you know I’m keeping A1. I received both parcels safely yesterday, breeches biscuits salmon socks &c many thanks. Had a fine hot bath yesterday & a change of underclothes. You might send the People out each week as we get no news here now goodness knows why. We had a few casualties up the line while there. Hope Dad is busy & keeping well. Thank Eth [his sister Ethel] for her letter to me tell her I’ll write someday.

All being well we should be out of the trenches for Xmas that would be rather good. If you are short of cash stop sending me parcels for a time & don’t forget you can use any money of mine you’ve banked. Give my kind regards to all neighbours. Love to Ethel & selves & don’t worry about me I’ll be alright. Hoping this will find Ma free from that cold she had & that all are well.

I remain
Your affect Son
Jack
8 Dec 1915pg2005

 

Leave a Reply

