17 Jun 1916 Jack Herbert is in the next village …

No 58 Batt Bombers
1st L.R.B.

My Dear Mother & Father
A few lines to let you know I’m still A1 &c. At [prest] we are doing a turn in the trenches. The BB are getting plenty of work this trip, trench digging laying cables for the Signal Section RE’s & bomb clearing and detonating. The weather of late has been more like that of November, what is it like at home now? Have not received your Reg. letter yet, perhaps I shall today or tomorrow. I saw Len and Gordon Ross** the other evening they are both looking very well, Gordon being about twice as fat as he was at home. Jack Herbert is in the next village to this that being the same place where L & G Ross are. He sent me his kind regards & is coming to see me when he gets a chance. Hope Dad is still busy & keeping fit. Is Ethel still well & getting on alright at bus: & home? As I’ve plenty of work to do now don’t get wind up if my letters & few & far between, still I’ll send a few FPC’s [Field Service Post Cards] when I can. Kind regards to all neighbours & love to Ethel & selves.

Your affect Son
Jack
** There is a Gordon (age 22) and Leonard (age 14) Ross living at Wordsworth Road, Wallington in the 1911 census.
17 June 1916pg101417 June 1916pg2015

Leave a Reply

