12 July 1916 … ought to be well in about six months

The Big Tent
V.A.D. Hospital
Newton Abbot

My Dear Mother & Father
You’ll be pleased to hear I’m still going strong, ought to be well in about six months. My jaw is being fixed up so I hope it will set well as at present the front teeth won’t close together nearer than half an inch. Had a letter from Mr Hudson today, he tells me the Firm has put another 15% years salary into Fund for last year, rather good eh! By the way are funds alright at home if so should like a small wrist watch luminous & strap complete, I think they can be got for 10/-6 still will leave it to you anyway get a good timekeeper. You need not send tooth brush as I’ve had one given me, but I should like razor brush for shaving & a comb soon as poss. Hope Dad is still busy & keeping fit. How is Ethel getting on at home also at bus, well I hope! Give my kind regards to all neighbours.

Love to Ethel & selves.  Hoping this will find all well.

I remain
Your affect Son
Jack

Leave a Reply

