13 August 1916 My face is more like its natural self …

Ward No 2
V.A.D. Hosp
Newton Abbot
Devon

My Dear Mother & Father,
You’ll be pleased to hear I’m still going strong & with an appetite as good as ever. Had a few showers here yesterday & today & now the atmosphere is quite cool. [Rolly] Jones wrote the other day he’s very cheerful. I only wish I had my ticket the same as he has. Hope Dad is still busy & also keeping fit. You need not send those magazines you speak about as I’ve seen most of the mags for this month. Don’t forget my pipe as I’m looking forward to a decent smoke. Let me know when you & Dad are coming down & I’ll get another pass. My face is more like its natural self now, only hope it will keep like it. Will ring off now with kind regard to neighbours & love to Ethel & selves.

Your affect Son
Jack

Leave a Reply

