15 August 1916 Shall be able to walk about with only a stick shortly

Ward no 2
VAD Hosp,
Newton Abbot

My Dear Mother & Father,
Received your letter today also pipe &c many thanks. I’ve just smoked a pipe of tobacco it’s grand after not having smoked one for nearly seven weeks. The weather here is fair now, rather showery at times. Shall be able to walk about with only a stick shortly. Had a nice letter from Uncle Will Haniford today, he seemed rather pleased with me for writing him. Let me know when Ethel is coming down. By the way, I bet she won’t be very pleased with people telling her she’s like me, after she’s seen my phiz. I shall not want any more money for some time as its impossible for me to spend it at present. Mr Hudson is going to send you the “Bulletin” with the a/c in. Kind regards to all neighbours & love to Ethel & selves.

Your affect Son
Jack
15 Aug 1916001

Leave a Reply

