31 Aug 1916 … can now walk about quite well

Ward No 2
VAD Hosp
Newton Abbot

My Dear Mother & Father,
Received your letter this morning. You’ll be pleased to hear I’m getting on A1 & can now walk about quite well. My jaw is still fixed up and going quite well. Yesterday afternoon I went to the local cinema & this afternoon for a drive in a four-wheeler. Ethel is coming up again tomorrow afternoon & goes home Saturday I understand. Had twenty hours rain here Tuesday to Wednesday & this morning a slight shower. Hope old Kel is going on alright, will write him again soon. You can send a few shillings next week if you like, though I have no particular hurry for it. I have not heard from Paula since you were here so have not written to her. Ethel played a few tunes to the chaps up here the other day, cheered them up quite a lot.

Kind regards to all neighbours & love to both.

Your affect Son
Jack

 

 

Leave a Reply

