8 Dec 1916 … all old crocks are being sent back …

Although dated 8 Dec 1916 it seems likely this was written before that date based on the second letter also dated 8 Dec.

Ward B16
1st Southern Genl
Birmingham

My Dear Mother & Father
I came back to this show yesterday afternoon & as I know my way about & also a few chaps have managed to settle down fairly well. Have not seen the Dentist yet, but shall do later in the day. Don’t expect I shall be home for Xmas as it’s a fortnight Monday, still if you wish to, get that ring & keep it until I return. Wonder how long I shall be in Blighty before going to France again as all old crocks are being sent back & this lad does not look ill at all. We are allowed out here from 2 pm – 4 pm now, so I shall have a look around Brum when I get the chance. Hope Dad is keeping well & still busy & how is Ethel getting on at bus:? Has Mr Cornish gone to the front yet? The weather here is wet but I think it will clear up shortly, what is it like at home?

Kind regards to all neighbours & love to Ethel & selves.

Your Affect Son
Jack

 

Leave a Reply

